Christmastime in the Emerald City











{June 6, 2008}   My Top Ten Music Videos by Copy McCopycat

Okay, I do realize that le boyfriend did this exact same idea not that long ago, but I got such an awesome sampling of music videos during the two or so weeks he spent wading his way through crap to find some decent artistic merit that I was inspired to blatantly steal the concept. Also, I just flat out don’t like Fatboy Slim. There, I said it. Other than that, I do think he has rocking taste in music, but the simple fact is that you can only do so much wading in so much time. One is inevitably going to miss a few samples. So, since I’m apparently cool enough to be his girl, I’m hoping I’m cool enough to augment his top ten list with a few opinions of my own.

Plus, my dad is a roadie and junk, meaning I had good music drilled into my head during the formative years. So my opinion is thusly professional and obviously correct.

Disclaimer: These are the Top Ten *videos* not necessarily top ten songs. Frustratingly enough, some of the most awesome songs in the world have lame or no music videos. Hotel California anyone?

Carrying on.

THE BEST MUSIC VIDEOS EVER

Beastie Boys – Body Moving

Are you kidding? You can’t even begin to tell me you don’t have this exact same ninja fantasy. Plus there’s gratuitous violence followed by super-rad medical impossibilities. And swords! And a helicopter chase! It’s gold, Jerry! Gold! Not to mention how unbelievably catchy the song is. If you don’t instantly have this song stuck in your head, you must have termites in there. Gold eating termites. Please seek medical assistance. Preferably from a guy in a powdered wig, because they can apparently fix anything.

Bjork – Bachelorette

Who doesn’t want their thoughts, dreams, hopes and aspirations, My Story, to be accepted and loved by all to the extent of a grandiose stage production? Also an excellent commentary on the treacherous nature of fame, fortune, and our attempts to solidify human concepts so easily crumbled by the forces of nature and our own silly hands.

Also, Bjork is fucking cool. Try walking around in a Swan dress and see what happens.

Busta Rhymes – Gimme Some Mo

How tired are you of shitty rap videos with a bunch of overly-serious, grilled up lame ass thug life wannabes with their pants halfway down their ass leering over a low camera and pointing as many different combinations of fingers at the lens as they can think of while their homies stand menacingly by, waiting for their turn? Probably about as tired as me. Busta Rhymes on the other hand, has some cool ass unique shit, and even when he does do the finger pointing thing, he’s either making fun of those who do it with sincerity, or at the very least is wearing a large foam sombrero.

Missy Elliot – Work It

Missy Elliot is kind of like the female version of Busta Rhymes, aka Hellass Cool. Especially for not flashing her tits like her skankier counterparts and for poking fun at her own culture based media biases, including the pressure to be skinny and get your hair and nails did. Not to mention being able to rock that getup like nobodies business and the little breakdancing girl who looks like Penelope Cruz with reverse Progeria.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Roller Coaster of Love

Have I told you how much I love animated music videos? No? Well here you go.

Korn – Freak On A Leash

I do think that Korn is pretty much an overall joke, but this video is quite rad. Firstly, it’s animated for a good portion. Secondly, those visuals are awesome. Thirdly, the bullet ripping through a few totems of the all-American boring life – the TV, the birthday party balloons, the cell phone, the office, the corner store, the fat guy in a pool – is fairly poignant. I also like the fuck-youness of the security guard nearly offing a suspicious looking kid that as it turns out was only playing hopscotch. Makes you think twice about being overly assumptive, no?

 Motley Crue – Afraid

So you will have to forgive my ongoing crush on Nikki Sixx here, and perhaps suspend your belief a bit as a fat, suddenly magenta-headed Vince Neil stumbles around in leather pants. It is, beyond all that, a super awesome example of the 80s survivor’s not-often-succesful transmogrification into a newer, cleaner product. Also, fucking Larry Flint is in it, okay? As a guy carving legs. Best the-making-of story ever: Who gets to call Larry Flint and ask if he wants to be in a video where he’s carving legs? Uhhh, Nikki will do it.

Massive Attack – Fucking ANYTHING They’ve Ever Done, EVER!

Teardrop

Protection

Butterfly Caught

Angel

Karmacoma

Seriously, I dare you. Just pick one and tell me it isn’t amazing. It’s like art took ecstasy and vomited up genius.

Michael Jackson – Thriller

If only for affording the opportunity to walk out on the credits in the comfort of your own home. Incidentally, you may recognize the scary-movies-of-yore voice as the legendary Vincent Price. You won’t see him anywhere in the video, however. He thought Michael Jackson was too creepy. All kidding aside though, this is still regarded by most as THE best music video, period. Some would argue November Rain, but as much as I love GnR, that video doesn’t even make it onto my ‘eh’ list. Thriller it is. I know you all think you’ve seen it, and you probably have at some point. But you really need to watch it again, because unless you watched it last week, you have no idea how amazing it really is.

 

And now…..at my personal number one…drumroll please…

 

*drrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr*

Weird Al Yankovic – Amish Paradise

Shut your face. You know I’m right.

 

Pure Evyl says:

Korn’s Freak on a Leash would be my top pick. Although NIN has some really freaky good ones.



Haha, I love the “shut your face. You know I’m right.” I daydream about saying those exact words to so many people onm a daily basis…



joebecca says:

HEY GREENIE!!

I do SOO love your list, except i prefer Janet and Michael’s “Scream” video, even to “Thriller”, (oh, did i just SAY THAT??) and i almost shed a tear when you said that Korn is pretty much a joke. I saw them 4 times in concert. Trust me, they are no joke! neither are their crazy moshing fans! *sigh* still hurts though… 😦



Billy says:

I love the Busta Rhymes video. Made me have a flashback from some drugs I did ten years ago.
This one’s my favorite.



duffboy says:

You had me at “It’s gold, Jerry! Gold!”. But, if you were gonna pick Weird Al”, the obvious choices were “Eat it”, “Fat” or the always classic “Like a surgeon”. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.



@ Evyl: Trent Reznor doesn’t make my list until he puts out a song about how much he loves puppies and kittens.

@ Leaf: Dude, I say that so often it’s hilarious. It makes me feel deliciously valley girl in a still smart kind of way. Feel free to borrow it, it’s quite liberating.

@ Tiny Whore: In space, nobody can hear either of them, which is probably for the best. I wouldn’t want any alien species judging the human race on either of those freaks.

@ Billy: I’ve actually yet to see a Busta Rhymes video I didn’t like. I even like the one he did with Janet.

@ Duff: No way dude, he got friggin Michelle Pfeifer to star in his parody video as an uptight Amish wife. He gets the gold. But to be fair, he does get the gold for pretty much anything.



duffboy says:

No way, Em., that was Florence Henderson! You remember, the mom from the Brady Bunch. I guess that tops Michelle, huh?



Paul B. says:

I love nothing more than a good dose of intelligent reading at your blog… I will give you an 8 for the Mötley Crue vid.. but the rest we need to talk about.



@ Duffboy: Really? I’m too lazy to look it up again as it says the video is no longer available when I click on it. I’m pretty sure I recall a behind the scenes saying it was Michelle. But either way, pretty damned hilarious. “Well I know I’m a million times more humble than thou art”? COME ON! Awesome! 😀

@ Paul: Ha! The only person to mention the Motley Crue. You’re an okay kid. As long as you like at least one of them, I’m good.



joebecca says:

where arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre you????????????????



Leave a Reply

et cetera
