Christmastime in the Emerald City











{June 3, 2008}   Quirks: A Sampling

I’m in a pretty good mood right now. I escaped a random near-panic at work with minimal overall damage, and now I’m watching a feel good news story on my fave hip and trendy urban news team, drinking a Stella and watching my boyfriend type away on his blog (which I have been dying to read for like, a week.) There’s a cool breeze, leftovers in the fridge and a clean outfit for tomorrow, meaning I can put off laundry and other chores for another lazy evening.

And that’s when I notice another quirk about myself. I mean I’ve got about a million, and some of them aren’t so awesome (a few of them are apparently called “symptoms,” and sometimes it’s hard to tell the difference, but that’s neither here nor there.) But tonight, I rather amused myself. In fact, there’s a lot of things I find amusing about myself. Let’s face it, I’m kind of awesome and stuff. Here are some quirks things that make me awesome. Maybe some of you count as awesome too?

Quirk #4521

 

 

 

 

 

I. am. FASCINATED by weathermen. With that whole gesturing to an invisible map behind them? Yeah. I know, I know, it’s not that difficult. But dudes, the guy I was just watching was precise, yo! He wasn’t doing broad gestures, he was circling the individual dot that is me! Or my general vicinity, at least. Is he watching himself on camera? Is it a mirror? Did he spend the rest of the day practicing? I mean, what else does he do all day, he’s the friggin’ weather man! I am endlessly amazed. When the weather comes on, I am five years old again, and they have divine powers. Especially after two beers. (Two beers now…not when I was five. Strict one bottle limit.)

Quirk #3267

 

 

 

 

 

I really like blank notebooks. And my own handwriting, but only with certain pens. And if I make a mistake I don’t cross it out, I rip out the page and write it again. Or at least I used to, cause I got pretty tired of keeping diaries, what with it being so much work and all. But I still think blank notebooks are like the awesomest things in the world, especially really nice ones with spiffy covers.

Quirk #2874

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I’m waiting for the bus, I won’t move towards the door until the bus has actually pulled in. Even if I see it coming, I’m totally convinced that if I get up, it’ll magically turn into the bus going in the opposite route, or it’ll be going out of service or something. Coincidentally, that is my exact bus right there. It’s even going in the right direction. This makes me happy.

Quirk #239

 

 

 

 

 

I like Friends. Suck it.

Quirk #3751

 

 

 

 

 

When I’m looking around on a table for something or trying to remember a long lost factoid, I hold my hands up about half way to my face and twiddle my fingers. It’s like spirit fingers helps me find things.

Quirk #946

 

 

 

 

 

I obsessively arrange objects on desks, tables, windowsills, etc. All equally spaced apart at right angles, tallest to shortest. No, that is not my desk.

Quirk #3347

 

 

 

 

 

I pester my rabbits and insist on petting them until they start headbutting my hand away just cause I think its so cute. And then they bite me and I have a bruised wound for a week, with nobody to blame but myself.

Quirk #4272

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t use a bathroom stall if someone has just left it. For some reason, it really bothers me to see the person who just used the toilet I plan to use. It’s like their aura is still there watching me take a leak.

Quirk #483

 

 

 

 

 

Every time I go to my favourite thai place, I get golden curry tofu, one chilli, no red peppers. There’s a nearly identical place up the street (a former chef at my fave place left and started her own business, and is thusly my hero) and I once tried tofu pad thai there, but it was wrong – delicious, but wrong – and I will never try anything new there again.

Quirk #5852

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I asked Josh what other quirks I have, and apparently I walk differently when I know he’s looking at my butt. That may be a total overshare, but I seriously had no idea I did that.

 

And now, as a finale, the first image that came up when I googled ‘quirky’. I quite like it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and feel free to share your own quirks. It might make you feel a little less quirky and a little more awesome. Awesomer like me.

Josh says:

Em, darlin, weather men have monitors to watch themselves in. Sorry. to ruin it for you. In fact they have monitors in several positions so they can see what they’re doing no matter where they’re facing.

Everyone likes Friends, hence the name.

Don’t expect much sympathy from me with the rabbit bites. I love you and all that good stuff, but stop fucking with the rabbits unless you like being bit.

What do you do at concerts? Or bars? In fact, what do you do any time you have to use a bathroom and there’s a line?

My quirk? I like to smell my forearms at the end of the day. I have no idea why, they don’t smell good or anything, just can’t stop myself.



OMG I do that too!!!!! But mostly only when they’re sunburned, or warm. They do smell good, I just can’t describe it, cause if I said “like slightly toasted skin” I’d sound like a lunatic.

And you ruined the weatherman magic. Thanks, jerk 😛

Also note that I don’t really do bars or concerts anymore, what with the abundance of humans and increased liklihood of jackassery, but it’s not like I’d piss myself or anything. I’d use the stall I just wouldn’t like it one little bit.



I went to WebMD.com and input all of your quirks and it turns out you have a very common condition most often referred to as “retarded”. 😛 HA! Just kidding. 😉 Here’s my #1 quirk: before trying anything new (to eat) I first have to smell it. If it doesn’t pass the smell test, I don’t try it. If I don’t like the way it looks chances are I won’t even bother to smell it. 😐 Yeah, I’m retarded like that. 🙂



Billy says:

Love your quirks. Especially your “thinking fingers”. If I am walking and I bump my ankles together my legs give out. I have to eat small food items like chips, nuts, or grapes in even numbers like 2’s or 4’s. The sure fire way to bring me out of a bad mood is listening to either Cat Stevens or Dio. I like shoes. I dig girls with tattoos on their arms. Are these quirks?



Wait…… did I miss something?? If you walk differently around josh does that mean you two like met n stuff? HOW DID I MISS THIS????

One of my quirks is… if im walking down the street i hafta walk on the lefthand side coz thats the way i wud b if i was driving… it totally freaks me out to walk on the right side of the
road i panic and stuff.



@ Peter Parkour: Ha! Every time I go to my doctor for the panic attacks, the first words out of my mouth are “Are you sure I’m not just retarded or something? ‘Cause I’m pretty sure I’m just being retarded. No? Okay.” So yeah, I’m totally just retarded 😛 The smelling your food thing kind of makes sense though, because the sense of smell and taste are connected, aren’t they? (That’s how I knew I hated green peppers when I was four. The psycho lunch ladies at my daycare still made me try, and I totally puked all over them. Rad!)

@ Billy: Ha, my wiggly fingers is so infectious, even Talea has started doing that. And when I eat small objects like that, I like to eat them so that there are an equal number of each item, or failing that, ascending numbers of each item.

@ Queenie: No, we have webcams and just chill out together while surfing the web or watching telly or whatevs. But staaaaaaaaay tuuuuuuuuned 😀



2lazydogs says:

“…spirit fingers helps me find things”…hahahaheeeheehohoho. Phew…okay, I’m done now. That’s great. OMG, I want spirit fingers, but oh no, I just get alphabet ghost to help me when I can’t think of something.

Only quirk I can think of right now: when I am about to cry and am trying very hard not to let a tear escape I tap my teeth together – rapidly – much like I think a bunny does whilst nibbling a tidbit.



Pure Evyl says:

I smell my socks after I take them off my feet.



Oh well thats ok then. Carry on! I cant wait til you two meet!! its going to be exciting..

How sad am i? getting excited about other peoples love lives *sighs*



duffboy says:

Picturing girls I know take a leak is no problem (watched my ex do the number 1 dozens of times), the pooping, that is a whole other issue. I suppose one of your quirks is never sitting on a toilet seat that has been recently seated a pooping gal, am I right?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
